Plastic bags, summer dresses

June 19, 2011: I Heart Ronson navy striped tank, Arizona blue jeans, Alexander McQueen for Target black sweater, H&M brown faux leather bag, Hayden-Harnett gold cracked metallic flats, Kenneth Cole Reaction sunglasses, Macy’s purple crystal heart necklace (there’ll be a post on my eBay buys somewhere down the line), Charlotte Russe pearl beaded headband.

I went to a Katy Perry concert this weekend, yippee! Although I love her songs, “Fireworks” is not one of my favorites. It starts off like this:

Do you ever feel like a plastic bag,

Floating in the wind,

Wanting to start again?

I always thought that line was really dumb, but I think it kind of applies right now to me, wanting to write over a history of less than brilliant decisions (style-wise and not – go figure). My concert outfit wasn’t anything as outrageous as that of other concertgoers (think neon wigs, bikini tops under ripped t-shirts, glittery get ups), but I’m not the star. Katy’s candy-themed costumes were sweet as can be, but I was way too high up and far away to take any pictures. Sorry, folks, you’ll just have to settle for pics of my weekend picks!

 

June 18, 2011: Hollister tank dress, American Eagle green bow wedge flats, Longchamp purple tote, Kenneth Cole Reaction sunglasses, Forever 21 enamel flower earrings, Skagen green watch, Edor “Heartstrings” necklace (you can’t really see it, but this charming handmade necklace is one of my favorites

Less than ten posts in and I am already re-using pieces in multiple outfits, but that’s what happens when you’re pretty much limited to what’s in your own closet.

Bought this dress last summer, and I finally got to wear it for the first time on Saturday, when my cousin and her husband invited all our folks over for a Father’s Day barbecue. Not usually a fan of Hollister and the store’s loud logo tees, loud music and loud teens, but I was psyched to find this dress on sale for a measly $14. The straps were initially too long, but I put my amateur sewing skills to work.

If you’re a gal, you know you’ve been waiting all winter long to break out your summer dresses! You just throw one on, and voilà, you’ve got yourself an entire outfit. I’d wear one every day of the year, but then I’d have to sit like a lady everyday. I LOVE the maxi dress look, but it’s really hard to find one cut for someone as short as myself. Anyone else got their eye on any other dress styles/trends?

. . .

Please ignore the stupid expression on my face. I am really awkward in front of the camera.

3 thoughts on “Plastic bags, summer dresses

  1. Holly!! I’m digging all your looks!! And lol, your child pic in that sweater is so hilarious and adorable! You’re right, you always were all smiles as a kid and in pics, so those yarn hair braids must have had quite an effect on you. I really like your most recent summer dress, too…girl, i dunno what you’re talking about being ‘drab,’ you (and Polly) are both definitely more fashion-forward than I ever will be! I always love your outfits whenever you two come over for our family gatherings. Anyway, keep the posts and photos coming. Also, I get such a kick out of your disclaimers and about your picture poses, lol – they add such a humorous touch. Love it!

    • Thanks for the super encouraging words, Caffeine! I’m a novice at this blogging stuff. And FYI, it’s usually Polly that wears the cute stuff. I usually choose function over fashion, but I’m trying to make more of an effort. Look good, feel good, right?

Give your two cents!

