Interview ready…or not

I went to my first interview of the season on Monday. It’s for a temp position as an office assistant. Normally I don’t like the uncertainty that comes with temp jobs, but while I wait to hear back on another opportunity, it’s probably best to explore a few unconventional options.

Well, I walked into the interview feeling ready to tackle any and all questions, but the hiring manager actually wanted me to do most of the asking. I asked all the questions I could think of off the top of my head, but then I asked if there was anything he wished to know about me. It was a little awkward, but all in all I think it went pretty well. I think I should know by next week whether or not the feeling is mutual.

My sister dissed my choice of outfit. She said everything was okay except for the black lace tights, which looked kind of skanky! Uh oh, I hope that’s not what the hiring manager was thinking. I didn’t want to go barelegged, but I didn’t want to wear black tights, and all my other tights are in funky colors like green and crimson. Are black lace tights an absolute no-no for work attire? I beg to differ, so long as the rest of the outfit is work appropriate, but I’d like to hear some other opinions on this!

[Click the photograph to enlarge it] August 29, 2011: Fuchsia satin New York & Company blouse, Ralph Lauren black skirt, Apostrophe black lace tights, Nine West black mary jane pumps, Longchamp purple tote, New York & Company sunglasses, Tiffany silver heart ribbon necklace.

2 thoughts on “Interview ready…or not

  1. Pingback: WANTED: more color in my life and wardrobe | Goofing Around By Myself

Give your two cents!

