Gripes ’bout my first Fashion’s Night Out

Fashion’s Night Out was really hyped up, so I was really looking forward to it. What a hectic night it turned out to be! My sister and I started out in the Herald Square area because there were fewer events going on there. I went to J.C. Penney, where they were doing something called “Miss For A Must” – people were given JCP gift cards in exchange for a “miss” from their closets. The old threads would then be donated to charity. I also scoped out Levi’s, which featured drinks and hors d’oeuvres catered by Canards and a performance by FUN; Fossil, where they were giving out sweets from Treats Truck and letting customers design their own tin IF they purchased a watch; and Gap, where they handed out flavored popcorn. I actually popped in for the sparkling drinks, which did not seem to exist. Talk about false advertising! At least they were running a special for the night (40% off any regular price item), unlike other stores. Bare Escentuals was giving makeovers, but only on HALF of your face! I guess that’s how they were trying to get people to buy the makeup, so they could finish the other half of their face. It felt like a regular night of shopping in Herald Square.

We decided to go downtown to SoHo next, where a bulk of the FNO events were happening. What craziness we found! Long lines for EVERYTHING. We just popped into a few stores (Levi’s, Guess, Aldo, Banana Republic, Desigual, Lucky, Express) onvBroadway, but I was so turned off by the crowds that we didn’t even hit most of the stores we’d mapped out. I didn’t dare venture down the side streets toward the high end stores – they made promises of carnival games, vodka, photo booths and celebrity appearances, so I knew I probably wouldn’t even be able to get in.

Maybe I should’ve gotten to the area earlier. I think it could have been a really fun night, but it’s not fun when everyone else around you is drunk and you’re functioning perfectly. A lot of the stores that were giving out drinks didn’t even card! I wonder how much underage drinking was happening. THEY definitely had a better time than I did. That aside, I was most disappointed by the lack of sales and specials. I’m not going to buy your stuff just because you gave me a couple of drinks and snacks, which I had to fight large crowds to get to. Sure, some people drank a lot, but no amount of alcohol will make people part with their hard earned dollars for stuff they don’t need. For future FNO events, good promotions and FNO-exclusive items are a must. I didn’t even find anything worth buying, so I’m not sure I’ll go again next year…Maybe if I go with people who actually know what they’re doing, so let me know!


A human mannequin-model at Manhattan Mall for J.C. Penney. Look how lovely she looks in this Mango maxi dress! No way I could ever wear something like that, being 5 feet tall and all.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *


FUN performing a set at Levi’s on 34th Street. The guitarist is so cute!

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

At Aldo on Broadway with Christian Cota, who collaborated with the brand to put out a fabulous-looking Fall 2011 shoe collection. Frankly, he looks more like a model than a designer!

3 thoughts on “Gripes ’bout my first Fashion’s Night Out

  1. My friends and I wound up going to Soho a couple hours after you left. I tried calling you but you were probably gone by then. We pretty much had the same reaction to Soho. The crowds were terrible! Luckily, Sahar was able to get us into the QVC party without having to wait on the line and we caught a glimpse of Heidi Klum but it was way too crowded and not worth it if you had to wait on line. We were at the Ace Hotel right before that to try to meet Miss Piggy but that line was terrible too! They did have a fun little carnival outside, though, that we spent some time at.

Give your two cents!

