Picnic perfect in the park

I live right across the street from a park, and yet in all the time that my guy and I have been together, we’ve never been on a picnic. Last Friday was the perfect New York City autumn day, warm and sunny with just a hint of breeze. We ate, we lazed, and we blew bubbles. Plus I FINALLY got to use the adorable vintage picnic basket I bought on eBay a few years ago. It was a great way to spend what was surely one of the last few days we’ll be able to walk around in short sleeved shirts. I’d be up for picnicking in the late fall and winter, though. Any takers?

Homemade veggie and (dry) chicken pasta salad with sesame dressing, sloppy but tasty chocolate dipped strawberries, and cold apple cider (not homemade. Wish I could claim credit for that!). And nope, those aren’t my hairy legs.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

Having fun with Jelly Belly (they make stuff other than jelly beans?) apple scented bubbles. Outfit: Charlotte Russe tan crochet trim top, Kenneth Cole Reaction ombre sunglasses (my fave, in case you haven’t noticed by now), Charlotte Russe teal and gunmetal ID bracelet, Fred Flare key necklace, and a tiny silver heart I found and hung from a sterling silver chain.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

Conair jeweled bronze barrettes and antique-look blue stone encrusted heart stud earrings.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *     *

UPDATE: Okay, summer ended on 9/23 this year, so let’s see how I did on sticking to my proposed $100 summer clothing and accessories budget. This is the first and only budget I have ever set for myself, but it probably won’t be the last. I did buy a few things after I got back from Hawaii, mostly cute tops that were on end-of-season clearance for really cheap!

Mossimo floppy sun hat ($12.34) + Maxi dress ($13.60) + graphic tee ($10.41) + two pairs of glass stud earrings ($20.83) + two Charlotte Russe tops, two belts, one necklace, and a jersey dress ($28.63) + two necklaces from Fred Flare warehouse sample sale ($4.36)

Total spent on fashion and accessory items for myself this summer: $90.17. Success!

Give your two cents!

