Who ‘nose’ what’s next?

This week I exhibited a lot of uncharacteristic behavior. I think part of it has to do with the fact that I’m turning 25 in less than two weeks, and I haven’t done any of the things I wanted to do by the time I reached this milestone birthday. I never pursued singing opportunities. I didn’t learn how to play the guitar. I’m still living at home. Heck, I don’t even have a clear view of my career path right now.

That may be the reason I’ve been lashing out – in the best way possible. This week alone, I did a handful of things I’ve wanted to do for years, but only just now felt the urgency to actually carry out. I started wearing (bright!) red lipstick, just for the hell of it. I attended a free concert/event party at Williamsburg’s Public Assembly, whose goings-on I frequently put in the events calendar back when I was still a newspaper editor, but never quite found the time to check out. It was so much fun! Furthermore, I finally, finally got the nose stud I’ve wanted for almost a decade.

I know some might say it’s not wise to get a piercing when you’re looking to make a career move (and hoping to score some interviews), but I think the most unwise thing of all would be to let another one of my goals end up on my list of regrets. I never got my nose pierced in high school because I was afraid of incurring my dad’s wrath, and in college and at my newspaper job, I resisted because I didn’t want to appear unprofessional. I could’ve gone for it when I left the paper a year ago, but I was afraid of being judged by the parents of my after school students. I’ve since realized that it’s never quite going to be the “right time.” I’ll always find some reason not to do it, and let’s face it – I’m not getting any younger. So I went for it, and I love it! Just like I always knew I would.

There’s still a lot I’ve yet to do, and most of it probably won’t happen before I turn 25. It’s unlikely I’ll ever sing on a Broadway stage. But, at least now I know what it feels like to step outside my comfort zone, so I’ll try to do it more often. Gotta say, it feels dayaaamn good!

    

Got the tiniest of nose studs since I have a rather tiny nose and face. Can’t wait for it to heal so I can get this hammered heart stud (right) from Etsy that I’ve had my eye on for awhile.

Rocking crazy-red lips, lace, and links with my girl Steph at a Public Assembly party for the new MTV show “I Just Want My Pants Back.”

3 thoughts on “Who ‘nose’ what’s next?

Give your two cents!

