The new directions

Nope, this post isn’t an homage to the beloved TV show choir group of the same name, but a public declaration of this blog’s gear switching. Let’s face it, fashion isn’t my thing, and though I may still occasionally post about clothing and accessories, this blog needs a fresh perspective. When I started writing, I hoped that by challenging myself to look better on the outside, it would translate into me being better on the inside. Maybe I hoped to become more interesting, more creative, more…anything but the same old me. Maybe I still want that, only I’ve been going about it the wrong way. Applying my closet as a metaphor for my life again, everything is uninspired because I gravitate toward things that are easy, familiar, comfortable. My new self-challenge is simple: do things, however minute, that make me uncomfortable. That scare me. It’s not a brilliant plan or even an original one, but it’s one I care infinitely more about than what outfit I’m going to wear the next day. Not to knock all the style bloggers out there, but I’ll never be able to do what you do, even half as well as you do.

Since the direction of my blog is shifting, it seems only natural for it to receive a complete revamp. I’ll be thinking about formats, messing around with HTML, maybe even registering a domain at last. I’ve always been intimidated by the back end aspect of websites. Could this be my first “one thing that scares me” objective? Gonna cross my fingers this doesn’t turn out to be a total flop, or the disappointment may force me to quit blogging altogether!

One thought on “The new directions

Give your two cents!

