Holly after dentist

The lower part of my face has been swollen for days. I look like Quagmire from Family Guy!

The lower part of my face has been swollen for days. I look like Quagmire from Family Guy!

 

This past week, I took my second vacation. No trip planned this time, but 10 PAID days away from work sounded equally as appealing. So how exactly did I choose to spend my much anticipated stay-cation? Recovering from oral surgery, of course. I had all 4 of my impacted wisdom teeth removed in one visit, an intensive surgery requiring the oral surgeon to cut into my gums. I’ve heard many horror stories about the after math of this surgery, so I wanted to do it in one shot rather than splitting it up into multiple traumatizing experiences. One and done, folks!

The surgeon put me to sleep so I don’t remember a thing about the procedure, but I’ll never forget the recovery part of it. My face has been swollen for days, and at times it feels like someone punched me in the jaw. I have a hard time opening my mouth to shovel in food, but most of it I can’t even chew. I’m eating better than most oral surgery patients, though – turkey soup, congee, steamed rice rolls, hand pulled noodles with tripe, sticky rice wrapped in a lotus leaf. It makes me appreciate my Asian heritage even more. Man cannot live on bread and mashed potatoes alone!

The following is a series of photographs I found on my phone after that fateful dental visit, reminiscent of the “David after dentist” video on Youtube. My husband says I made him take these after my surgery because I wanted to see what my face looked like. I don’t even remember!

 

 

One thought on “Holly after dentist

  1. Hope you feel better, I did my wisdom teeth removed with two visits, thanks I don’t have that kind of swollen. Jelly and ice cream are good for you at that mean time.

Give your two cents!

