The creativity dilemma

Happy belated New Year, everyone! Recently, while pulling an overnighter at work, with no one for company but the singers on my Spotify playlist, I found myself scribbling phrases and drawing doodles in a notepad. By the end of the night, I had written a poem which is somewhat indicative of where I am professionally. I enjoy what I do for the most part, but sometimes it becomes tedious and uninspiring. Take a gander at one of my workplace ramblings.

Pearl Street Blues

I avoid the clock like a plague,
Afraid to read the hands which dictate my fate.
The night is young, but I am not.
Silence makes me all too aware.
Tinny lyrics croon of wild imaginings
As I struggle to find my creative pulse.
This costume I wear constricts its flow.
When day breaks, I will dream in color
But until then there is darkness.
Boredom is a bi*ch.

While I wouldn’t describe myself as an artist, I do consider myself a creative person. When I used to write for a local newspaper, individuality was encouraged. In my current situation, the goal is to do the job to the best of my ability, but stay under the radar of my superiors, lest I get into trouble. That’s why I’ve kept this blog [fairly] updated – it’s my space for reflection, self-discovery, and imagination. Plus, I’m trying to keep my writing skills sharp – they may help me advance within the organization somewhere down the line.

On a lighter note: something I’ve been casually playing around with for awhile now is jewelry making. I like to “upcycle” old, unfashionable jewelry items into simple, wearable pieces. It doesn’t require too much skill, just a steady hand and an eye for pretty things. Armed with an old pair of pliers I found in my mom’s house, I twist metals and string beads to my heart’s content. So that’s my flavor of the month. Who knows, maybe I’ll finally pick up those oil pastels, acrylic paints, and canvas magnets sitting in the corner of my apartment.

 

IMG_7540

I’ve collected beads for years. I made these earrings as a friend’s Christmas gift.

 

 

I wore these earrings, made out of old necklaces, to a New Year’s Eve party.

 

 

A braided ring of metal wire and metallic seed beads.

 

 

The special occasion bracelet I reach for when I want sparkle, fashioned out of one of my sister’s broken earrings, and beads from an old faux pink pearl necklace.

 

 

I enter my late-20s next month, and this blog is all about doing things to get to a point where I’m comfortable in my own skin. I didn’t make a New Year’s resolution, so you’re hearing it here first: beginning in 2015, I pledge to be my most creative self, whether it be mentally, visually, artistically, musically, culinarily, or all of the above. My resolve will be put to the test as I help plan my best friend’s summer wedding and my own autumn wedding. Really looking forward to incorporating some of those awesome DIY details I’ve seen featured on so many blogs. Stay tuned to see if I stay true to my word. Commence the creativity challenge!

3 thoughts on “The creativity dilemma

Give your two cents!

