My best friend’s wedding

My bestie’s wedding was yesterday, and as maid of honor, I felt a lot of pressure for things to go smoothly. I’m taking some time now to breathe a huge sigh of relief. Everything went off without a hitch, the bride was radiant, and everyone (myself especially) had a blast. Now I can allot more time to think about my own upcoming wedding celebration. I’ve been to tons of weddings, but this was my first time being part of the bridal party. I got to see firsthand just how much work goes into planning such an event, but also tasted the sweetness that comes with its successful outcome.

In the early stages of wedding planning, my mom scolded me for considering a destination wedding. In typical mom fashion, she guilted me into getting her way. “At my age,” she said,  “there seem to be more reasons for grief than celebration. You attend more funerals than weddings. How can you take that away from your relatives?” After seeing my bestie burst into tears of joy multiple times in the presence of people who love her – and not feeling embarrassed about it at all – I think I get it now.

The following are photographs of the bridal shower, which took place a month ago, and some behind-the-scene moments from the Thai/Chinese/American-style wedding this past weekend.

 

#nedasbridalbash. (May 29, 2015)

 

The results of the “Kiss The Groom” game.

 

Bridesmaid Carrie serving sparkling apple cider for toasting.

Bridesmaid Carrie serves sparkling apple cider for toasting.

 

Neda and her mom cheesing it up at the photo wall.

Neda and her mom cheesing it up at the photo wall.

 

Photo board from the bridal shower.

Photo board from the bridal shower.

 

Getting ready for the big day. (June 20, 2015)

Getting ready for the big day. (June 20, 2015)

 

Under my umbrella (ella ella, eh eh eh eh, eh eh), at Gantry Plaza State Park.

 

At the famed Pepsi Cola sign in Long Island City.

At the famed Pepsi Cola sign in Long Island City.

 

Bridesmaid Carrie and myself hamming it up between takes.

Bridesmaid Carrie and myself hamming it up between takes.

 

Taking private photos in a public park is no easy task.

 

Adorable Totoro cake toppers made by our talented friend Candice!

 

Man and wife share a piece of the delicious wedding cake.

 

Photo booth pic of the bride + her maids.

 

Photo display of the bride and groom.

 

#nedahenryforever

 

Receiving blessings during the Thai ceremony portion of the wedding.

 

Bride and groom dressed in Thai wedding garb.

The groom and bride dressed in Thai wedding garb.

 

Give your two cents!

